Need help Optimizing Sharpen and Blur in iPhone Application

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
DrJOnes666

Need help Optimizing Sharpen and Blur in iPhone Application

Post by DrJOnes666 »

Hi,
I am an iphone app developer and we are currently working on an application that use Image Magick for some graphical modifications. Our programmer is currently testing ways to optimize the workflow of the Image Magick filters inside our application. So far, he was able to reduce to 7 seconds the rendering time of many of the effects such as Saturations on a 5MP image on an iphone 4. Unfortunately, other effects are taking much longer, such as Blur (15s) and Sharpen (20s), which we would like to reduce the rendering time as much as possible.

My questions are:
- does all sharpen and blur effects in the IMage Magick database take roughly the same time to render on an image? (in Photoshop for instance, Smart Sharpen takes considerably longer to render than a regular Unsharp Mask).
- what would be the best ways to optimize those effects in an iphone app?
- do you know links/references I could offer our programmer to educate himself on the subject of optimizing IM effects inside an iphone app?

Thank you all!

Martin
magick
Site Admin

Re: Need help Optimizing Sharpen and Blur in iPhone Applicat

Post by magick »