How to convert an image into cylinderical image usng imagemagic?

A plethora of command-line scripts that perform geometric transforms, blurs, sharpens, edging, noise removal, and color manipulations.
imran_ullah
Posts: 3
Joined: 2019-03-03T03:46:13-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: How to convert an image into cylinderical image usng imagemagic?

Post by imran_ullah » 2019-03-04T03:56:18-07:00

On my directory the displace.png is generated only but then the script aborts. I also want to know why do I need the displace.png?

snibgo
Posts: 11688
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: How to convert an image into cylinderical image usng imagemagic?

Post by snibgo » 2019-03-04T06:24:37-07:00

Your question is vague.

What version of IM, on what platform? What script are you using? What is your exact command? What are your input images?
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25022
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: How to convert an image into cylinderical image usng imagemagic?

Post by fmw42 » 2019-03-04T10:57:14-07:00

What is the revision version of the script. It is at the top of the script. The current version is dated 12/31/2018.

What is your exact version of ImageMagick 6.8.x.x. Use convert -version. Nevertheless, 6.8 is rather old.

Since you are using -m vertical, the script should never get to line 933, which is used when -m horizontal is set. So I do not know what is happening.

I think that error might be coming from your OS and not ImageMagick. Do you have enough space in your /tmp directory. Perhaps it is filling and ImageMagick crashes due to too little space to work. How big is your image? Can you post a link to your image here?

The displacement image is created by the script to control the actual warping. See https://imagemagick.org/Usage/mapping/# ... ement_maps and https://imagemagick.org/Usage/mapping/# ... e_cylinder where a simpler form of the cylinderize is shown. Perhaps that code will be all that you need.

Post Reply