Maximum size of image

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
prateek2k10
Posts: 13
Joined: 2011-07-18T21:57:12-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Maximum size of image

Post by prateek2k10 »

Hi

I want to create 129600 in width and 1656 in height size image,
Is that imagemagick is so much capable to create that much size text image.
Please tell me the configuration of linux server needed to create that image.
Is there any limitations of sizes.

Thanks
Prateek
prateek2k10
Posts: 13
Joined: 2011-07-18T21:57:12-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Maximum size of image

Post by prateek2k10 »

these sizes are in pixels
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Maximum size of image

Post by snibgo »

That number of pixels needs about 2 GB, so merely creating the image needs that much memory.

Code: Select all

convert -size 129600x1656 huge.png
I don't know about Unix. My old 4 GB Windows laptop doesn't have enough free RAM (because I'm also doing other stuff), so it uses disk and takes 5 minutes.

If you are also doing processing you will need memory for both input and output. But if you use Q8 instead of Q16 you can halve the memory requirement.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Post Reply