Page 1 of 1

I get "segmentation fault" error everytime starting convert

Posted: 2016-05-02T17:07:07-07:00
by konstantin
I get "segmentation fault" error everytime starting convert, and memory core is dumped. I am using Arch Linux on my headless VPS (I mean no X installed, 4.4.5-1-ARCH) and I installed the ImageMagick package with Pacman package manager, version 6.9.3.8-1. Then I tried to compile it from source (7.0.1-0) with different configure options, and disabling different features, code parts. When I used this configure line, I got a working install, but labelling images with text didn't worked anymore:

Code: Select all

./configure --with-openexr=no --with-quantum-depth=8 --with-x=no --without-freetype --without-threads --without-pango   --disable-shared   --disable-openmp
Is it possible to analyze somehow, maybe the dumped memory core, which features need to be disabled on my system to disable exactly only the non-working and segmentation fault causing code parts, and leaving enabled the working ones? I don't want to try omiting them one by one.

Re: I get "segmentation fault" error everytime starting convert

Posted: 2016-05-02T18:29:17-07:00
by fmw42
Look in the download folder of IM 7 and see if there is a config.log file. If so, search it for errors and see what might have failed.

IM 7 installs by default as HDRI. You may want to add --disable-hdri.

IM 7 uses the the "magick" command rather than "convert", but I am told that a symbolic link to from convert to magick should be created automatically.

What was your exact IM command and what was the result of using it?

Re: I get "segmentation fault" error everytime starting convert

Posted: 2016-05-02T19:09:28-07:00
by konstantin
Using this configure line I managed to get a working install:

Code: Select all

./configure --with-openexr=no --with-quantum-depth=8 --with-x=no  --without-threads --without-pango   --disable-shared   --disable-openmp

Re: I get "segmentation fault" error everytime starting convert

Posted: 2016-05-02T19:38:33-07:00
by konstantin
I am trying to simply append 14 jpg files, vertically, so I use command:

Code: Select all

convert -append 4_*.jpg  examine_gamma_4.jpg
I still get an error message:

Code: Select all

convert: unable to extend pixel cache `no such file or directory' @ fatal/cache.c/CacheSignalHandler/3182.

Re: I get "segmentation fault" error everytime starting convert

Posted: 2016-05-02T20:40:08-07:00
by fmw42
Try the correct syntax for IM, esp IM 7, which is less forgiving than IM 6. The input images must come before any operator.

Code: Select all

convert  4_*.jpg  -append examine_gamma_4.jpg
Does that fix the issue?

Re: I get "segmentation fault" error everytime starting convert

Posted: 2016-05-03T09:32:32-07:00
by konstantin
Unfortunately changing the order of input files and the operator doesn't solve the issue, I get the same error message in both cases. Maybe the resulting image is too big, and doesn't fit in the memory as I have only 512 MB in the VPS. My individual images are 2076x902, I tried appending only the half of them (7 images)together, and it worked. Appending 14 images together still doesn't work.

Re: I get "segmentation fault" error everytime starting convert

Posted: 2016-05-03T09:37:17-07:00
by fmw42

Re: I get "segmentation fault" error everytime starting convert

Posted: 2016-05-03T09:53:18-07:00
by konstantin
I see, in the past (few months ago) stitching 14 similar sized images worked flawlessly.

Re: I get "segmentation fault" error everytime starting convert

Posted: 2016-05-03T10:24:59-07:00
by fmw42
On IM 7 does this work?

Code: Select all

magick  4_*.jpg  -append examine_gamma_4.jpg

Re: I get "segmentation fault" error everytime starting convert

Posted: 2016-05-03T15:18:31-07:00
by konstantin
Doesn't work, after a few seconds the error message appears:

Code: Select all

magick: unable to extend pixel cache `<some random looking strange word appears here>' @ fatal/cache.c/CacheSignalHandler/3182.

Re: I get "segmentation fault" error everytime starting convert

Posted: 2016-05-03T17:23:01-07:00
by fmw42
Try changing your policy values as mentioned above for large image processing, so that if you run out of RAM it goes to disk.