New on the forun amd my first question

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
evilaro
Posts: 27
Joined: 2015-08-11T02:17:47-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

New on the forun amd my first question

Post by evilaro » 2015-08-11T02:30:06-07:00

Hi:

Sorry I did not found a place to present myseft... maybe it is not
required.

So to the point, my first question.

I use windows 7

I use IM to rotate, crop, resize my images.

But erery time I activale the convert .exe
a window shows up.

Is there a way to make it NOT to show
this window.

I have look for something similar to -silent or -quiet
but do not seem to be it.

Thanks

Emilio

snibgo
Posts: 12006
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: New on the forun amd my first question

Post by snibgo » 2015-08-11T03:15:10-07:00

How do you activate convert.exe?

I normally run convert.exe from the command line or a script. If you use "drag and drop", and you use conhost, I don't think you can stop the window from appearing (but with "properties", perhaps you can minimise it). If you use mintty, you may be able to hide it.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

evilaro
Posts: 27
Joined: 2015-08-11T02:17:47-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: New on the forun amd my first question

Post by evilaro » 2015-08-11T03:34:49-07:00

Hi snibgo:

Thanks for the fast reply.

I use something like this

RUN convert morig.jpg -rotate +90 morig_rotado.jpg

What is mintty?

Thanks, much apreciated

Emilio

snibgo
Posts: 12006
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: New on the forun amd my first question

Post by snibgo » 2015-08-11T04:05:30-07:00

evilaro wrote:I use something like this

RUN convert morig.jpg -rotate +90 morig_rotado.jpg
From the start menu, I suppose? You might find it easier to open a command window, and type commands there (without "RUN").

mintty is the command window that comes with Cygwin. It has a few more features than the Microsoft Windows command window. "tty" = Teletype, which is what we used before personal computers, and even before VDU screens.

But I suggest you don't get involved with Cygwin until you understand Windows command windows.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

Bonzo
Posts: 2971
Joined: 2006-05-20T08:08:19-07:00
Location: Cambridge, England

Re: New on the forun amd my first question

Post by Bonzo » 2015-08-11T04:31:10-07:00

I create batch files and drop my photos over the batch file icon but still get a command box window open and close. I suppose this is what you are talking about Emilio? I seem to remember seeing a post about this a few years ago but can not remember the outcome.

evilaro
Posts: 27
Joined: 2015-08-11T02:17:47-07:00
Authentication code: 1151

Re: New on the forun amd my first question

Post by evilaro » 2015-08-11T04:41:06-07:00

Bonzo:

Yes, this is what I am talking about.

For me it is very annoying trying to get some data from a image and that on top of my image it shows this window.

But if there is no solution... well, then there is no solution.

Thanks

Emilio

rossdv8
Posts: 47
Joined: 2014-03-12T21:54:20-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: New on the forun amd my first question

Post by rossdv8 » 2015-08-17T16:21:10-07:00

Try putting the batch file in a folder, copying the image to that folder then clicking the batch file to run it. There's a slim possibility running the batch file directly in the same folder as the image might skip opening the window.

snibgo
Posts: 12006
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: New on the forun amd my first question

Post by snibgo » 2015-08-17T17:11:44-07:00

Yes, you can hide the window by using mintty. For example, create a desktop icon with whatever "Start in" directory you want, and "Target" set to:

Code: Select all

C:\cygwin64\bin\mintty.exe --hold error --window hide --e cmd /C c:\im\ImageMagick-6.9.1-6\convert logo: x.png
But the question is about systems configuration under Windows, and ImageMagick is incidental.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com

Post Reply