Arc Text Bug

Post any defects you find in the released or beta versions of the ImageMagick software here. Include the ImageMagick version, OS, and any command-line required to reproduce the problem. Got a patch for a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
Marcel71
Posts: 49
Joined: 2011-04-13T13:57:34-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Arc Text Bug

Post by Marcel71 »

When i want to add an Arc test to an image of 400x400 it gives the result i expect. However, if i create a canvas 400x400 and then add the text with an arc, it does places the text totally different.

Code: Select all

convert rose: -resize 400x400! ( -background none -fill red -pointsize 25 label:"Some Text" -virtual-pixel background -distort Arc 180 ) -composite round_text.png
result:Image

But when i create a canvas from 400x400 i would expect the same as above, but then on a clean canvas

Code: Select all

convert -size 400x400 xc:white ( -background none -fill red -pointsize 25 label:"Some Text" -virtual-pixel background -distort Arc 180 ) -composite round_text.png
result:
Image

i use: IM 6.7.9-0
Marcel71
Posts: 49
Joined: 2011-04-13T13:57:34-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Arc Text Bug

Post by Marcel71 »

Hi,

I found a work-around:

Code: Select all

convert -size 400x400 xc:white ( -size 0x0 -background none -fill red -pointsize 25 label:"Some Text" -virtual-pixel background -distort Arc 180 ) -composite round_text.png

User avatar
anthony
Posts: 8883
Joined: 2004-05-31T19:27:03-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Arc Text Bug

Post by anthony »

Use +size instead of -size 0x0

The size setting is being used by label:

See http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/text/#label
Anthony Thyssen -- Webmaster for ImageMagick Example Pages
https://imagemagick.org/Usage/
Post Reply