Replace chroma key by image

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
bbtrash
Authentication code: 6789

Replace chroma key by image

Post by bbtrash »

Hi everyone !
I'm solving following task: How to add (post production) some information on image. We have 5 images of product from different angles (see example below). We need add manufacturer logo to every image dynamically.
My solution is: add rectangle with chroma key color on the wall. Use ImageMagic to locate chroma color rectangle on image and replace it by choosen image. Its possible to do that ?
OR : make two points determining rectangle on wall, locate points positions, fill virtual rectangle by choosen image.

I studied ImageMagic wiki, but i'll be really gratefull for some practical/working example

Here is an image with chroma key rectangle which i want replace.

Thanks for any advice.
fmw42
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Replace chroma key by image

Post by fmw42 »

You can create the same cromakey color patch (same size and color) as an image and use the compare function to find the location of the patch in your image. Once you have to coordinates, you can composite your small image there.

see

http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/compare/
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/compare/#statistics
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/compare.php

An example is at viewtopic.php?f=1&t=14613&p=51076&hilit ... ric#p51076, but you now need to add -subimage-search to the command.

For compositing, see
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/compose/#compose
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/layers/#convert

convert backgroundimage smallimage -compose over -composite result
bbtrash

Post by bbtrash »

Hi.
First I would like say thank you to user fmw42 for his reply to my problem. I tried suggested method but with weird result.