Page 1 of 1

Stop/Resume montage

Posted: 2018-06-08T15:27:04-07:00
by drigtime
Hello, I'm using the ImageMagick montage on a lot of pictures, and it takes a lot of time finish, it might take a week or even more and I don't want to let my computer being On all of this time, I want to be able to shutdowns my computer. So is it possible to stop a montage and then resume it later ?

Re: Stop/Resume montage

Posted: 2018-06-08T15:30:59-07:00
by fmw42
Basically no, not that I know, especially if you stop your computer.

Re: Stop/Resume montage

Posted: 2018-06-08T15:40:58-07:00
by drigtime
fmw42 wrote: 2018-06-08T15:30:59-07:00 Basically no, not that I know, especially if you stop your computer.
Well never mind, thank you for the very fast answer ;)

Re: Stop/Resume montage

Posted: 2018-06-08T15:44:22-07:00
by fmw42
Let me ask a question. Is it taking a week to do one montage or multiple montages?

If the latter, you can script to do them one at a time. Once you know the last output, you can compute how to modify your script to start where the last output finishes.

If the former, then no, I do not think you can do that.

Are you using montage or mogrify? You said montage and I am just curious if you really meant mogrify.

Re: Stop/Resume montage

Posted: 2018-06-08T16:09:24-07:00
by drigtime
Well, I'm not quite sure my self what is the difference between montage & mogrify, there is the command line that I typed

Code: Select all

magick montage -monitor -define registry:temporary-path=D:/Temp *.png -geometry +0+0 -tile x1 all.png
And there is what magisk is actually doing :

Code: Select all

load image[000.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[001.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[002.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[003.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[004.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[005.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[006.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[007.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[008.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[009.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[010.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[011.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[012.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[013.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
load image[014.png]: 142187 of 142188, 100% complete
mogrify image[014.png]: 14 of 15, 100% complete
So I think what I'm doing is a mogrify.
Is it taking a week to do one montage or multiple montages?
I had 23780 images at the beginning and then I made a montage/mogrify of 145 column that contain 164 images each, then I made a montage/mogrify of the 144 images to only have 15 images left but the resolution of those picture is just insane, only 1 picture is 12670x142188. So I would say this it taking a week to do one montage because the last one is taking a lot of time.
(Sorry if this is hard to understand, english is not my primary language)

Re: Stop/Resume montage

Posted: 2018-06-08T16:19:47-07:00
by fmw42
You are indeed doing montage to append many images into one row. You could do that with append, which might be faster since it is a simpler tool. See http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/layers/#append. You could break up your processing into more groups of smaller number of images and then append the groups together. That way if you need to stop, you can more easily pick up where you left off. The last one will take a long time, since it needs to hold at least one copy of the input and one copy of the output in memory. Since you may not have enough RAM, ImageMagick uses disk. So writing to disk as temporary memory will take a long time.

Re: Stop/Resume montage

Posted: 2018-06-08T16:59:05-07:00
by drigtime
:o thanks a didn't know about the append tool, I'll try it ;)